EEDC reports to an Edmonton City Council-appointed Board of Directors, comprised of business and community leaders who ensure the goals and strategies of the organization achieve the level of economic impact that is desired by the Shareholder, the City of Edmonton.

The Board of Directors meets quarterly to review the performance of EEDC management, and provides insights and recommendations for achieving the resilient growth and continuous prosperity needed in the Edmonton visitor economy. The Board of Directors is led by an Edmonton City Council approved Chair and operated with the following Committee structure:

  • Governance Committee
  • Audit and Finance Committee
  • Human Resources and Compensation Committee

Chantell Ghosh
Chair of the Board

Chantell is a third generation Edmontonian who completed both her degrees at the University of Alberta. After a career as a lawyer, Chantell has worked in the Energy Sector, the Arts, and most recently led Brand & Communications for Spirit Airlines in the United States. Chantell has returned from living and working abroad for over a decade and is now the Executive Director at The Citadel Theatre.

David Bryan

David is the Energy Services & Industrials Sector Leader and Alberta Region Leader for PwC’s Private Company Services practice. In addition, he is the Deals Practice Leader. As an accountant, he is focused on enhancing business performance and has developed a strong network in the local business community. David is currently on the board of PwC Canada and also has experience sitting on boards for the Art Gallery of Alberta and Wellspring Edmonton. David is also on the Alberta and Northwest Territories advisory board for the Children’s Wish Foundation.

Rohit Gupta

Rohit is the President of Rohit Group of Companies, a family owned real estate development and holding company. The company was founded in 1986 by his father and Rohit became President in 2002. Under his leadership, the company has grown significantly and has adopted a very community-oriented approach. Rohit has partnered with several charitable organizations in the greater Edmonton area and is committed to contributing to the betterment of the community.

Matthew Havertape

Matt is a senior finance executive, beginning his career with PwC in Minneapolis, Minnesota, and gaining multinational experience in the United States, Europe and Canada. He is currently Vice President, Finance and IT with The Little Potato Company, a privately held, family-values based company dedicated to serving nutritious, convenient and delicious creamer potatoes. In his role, Matt leads a number of corporate functions such as Finance, Accounting, Treasury, Information Technology, Legal and Risk Management.

His Worship Don Iveson
Mayor of Edmonton

Since his election as Edmonton’s 35th Mayor in 2013, Mayor Iveson has set his sights on transforming Edmonton into a highly uplifting, more resilient, globally competitive, well-governed city that is recognized as one of Canada’s very best places to build something great.

Prior to entering public life, Iveson studied Political Science at the University of Alberta, then led the Canadian University Press in Toronto. He returned home to a city that appeared to be exporting young, smart leaders, thinkers, creators and entrepreneurs faster than it could attract them. As a proud Edmontonian, the challenge of attracting and retaining more people inspired Iveson to run for City Council in 2007; he served two terms as a City Councillor before running for Mayor.

Marcela Mandeville

Marcela is the CEO of Alberta Women Entrepreneurs (AWE). She is a certified International Trade Professional and has more than 15 years of global experience developing and implementing business strategies.

Marcela believes strongly in continuous learning and contributing to the community.  She serves as Director on the Youth Empowerment and Support Services (YESS), Women’s Enterprise Organizations of Canada (WEOC), and EEDC Boards. She is also a former Director on the Alberta Innovates Board, a former member of the AIESEC Edmonton Advisory Board and former Board Chair for Literacy without Borders.

Chris Micetich

Chris is a founder of six companies and the current President and CEO of Fedora Pharmaceuticals and Brass Dome Ventures. The organization is a successful second generation biomedical research company headquartered in Edmonton. In 2016 Fedora Pharmaceuticals signed the largest biotech licensing deal ever in Canada. His hard work was honoured when he was the 2015 EY Entrepreneur of the Year award winner.

Karen Oshry

Karen is a lawyer and manages the firm Oshry & Company. Her practice focuses on business law and commercial real estate and transactions, providing legal services to individuals, small and medium sized businesses as well as institutional clients. Karen is an alumnus of the Universities of Alberta and Toronto. As a long time Edmontonian and volunteer, she is committed to advocating for business and growth in the City of Edmonton.

Naomi Stefura

Naomi is the Chief Financial Officer of Melcor Developments Ltd. and Melcor REIT, both publicly traded on the TSX. With over 140 communities built, Melcor has shaped much of Edmonton’s (and Alberta’s) urban landscape. Naomi oversees all aspects of Melcor and Melcor REIT’s financial health, risk management, reporting, budgeting, and capital market transactions.

Catherine Vu

Catherine co-founded Pro-Active Computer Solutions in 1997 and six years later bought out her partner, transforming it into Pro-Active IT Management Inc, which is a recognized force within the Alberta IT community. Catherine is passionate about giving back to her community. Her company is proud to sponsor and participate in numerous charitable events and campaigns throughout the year, recently supporting Alberta Easter Seals, Winnifred Stewart Association, Suit Yourself, Stollery Women Networks, and 1000 Women Advisory Committee.

She is also proud to be one of 22 founding mentors of University of Alberta Venture Mentoring Services (UA VMS) program which now has 90+ mentors.


Sorry, no posts matched your criteria.